Friday, August 18, 2006

Fifteenth Annual Conference, Society for Seventeenth-Century Music

University of Notre Dame, South Bend, Indiana, Thursday - Sunday, 19-22 April 2007

Call for Papers

The Society for Seventeenth-Century Music will hold its Fifteenth Annual Conference Thursday through Sunday, 19-22 April 2007, at the University of Notre Dame in South Bend, Indiana. Proposals on all aspects of seventeenth-century music -- instrumental music, vocal music, music theory, etc. -- and its cultural contexts are welcome, including those drawing on other fields as they relate to music. As 2007 marks the 300th anniversary of the death of Dietrich Buxtehude, proposals relating to his music and cultural milieu are particularly encouraged. Presentations may take a variety of formats, including individual papers 20 minutes in length, lecture-recitals (45 minutes), workshops involving group participation, roundtable discussions, and panel sessions. The Irene Alm memorial Prize will be awarded for the best scholarly presentation given
by a student.

It is the policy of the Society that a presenter cannot give an individual paper at two consecutive meetings. For individual papers, abstracts not exceeding 350 words should clearly represent the title, subject, and argument, and should indicate the significance of the findings. Proposals for presentations in other formats should be of similar length; they should clearly state and justify the intended format, and should indicate the originality and significance of the material to be delivered.

The Program Committee consists of Stewart Carter (chair; Wake Forest University), Kimberlyn Montford (Trinity University), Donald Fader (University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill), and Amanda Eubanks Winkler (Syracuse University).

Proposals may be sent by e-mail to, with the text of the abstract both pasted into the body of the e-mail and as an attachment in either MSWord or RTF format. Alternatively, five copies of the proposal (four anonymous and one identified with name, address, telephone, fax, and e-mail address) may be sent to:

Stewart Carter
Chair, SSCM Program Committee
Department of Music
Wake Forest University
PO Box 7345 Reynolda Station
Winston-Salem, NC 27109

Abstracts must be submitted by e-mail or postmarked by midnight, 1 October 2006. Students should identify themselves as such on the non-anonymous copy of the abstract or in the covering text of the e-mail message, and participants in lecture-recitals should attach short biographies. Audio or video recordings supporting proposals for lecture-recitals are welcome but
cannot be returned.


Post a Comment

<< Home

FREE hit counter and Internet traffic statistics from